Wonderful Needlepoint from Bucherie.com

I recently started working on needlepoint projects again. Currently, I am stitching this Fox by Beth Russell.

fox

I am probably going to finish this one soon which led me to look for a new design to stitch. My search found me looking at Bucherie.com located in Paris, France.  The shop is owned by the author of The Secrets of Needlepoint and 71 Carreaux, Dominique Siegler-Lathrop.  I contacted Dominique several times before I made my purchase by email and she was always quick to respond.  I ordered two kits including the medieval rabbit. Is this rabbit not the most adorable thing? I can’t wait to stitch it. I love the colors. Please see the enormous quantity of wool on the right that I get to work with. Meow!

rabbitkit

And here is another kit I bought to celebrate 850 years of Notre Dame.

garinbag

And here is the kit out of the bag.

garoutcutwools

(My husband took one look at the gargoyle and snagged it for himself.)

I wanted to write this post so you could see the high quality of the kits and what you might receive when purchasing from Bucherie.com. The hand painted canvases are outstanding. The kit is complete. There is a needle, yarns, canvas, and directions. The packaging was great. The prices are comparable to other premium, complete, hand painted canvas kits.  It took a couple of days for the kit to be put together before it was mailed and it arrived in under a month’s time.

The wools used at Bucherie.com deserve there own highlight.

aubussonwools

They are made for Bucherie.com by Aubusson wools. I usually prefer to stitch with Appleton wools but Aubusson wools are incredible. They are wonderfully spun with lots of twist and have a lovely sheen. The colors are vibrant and lively. I love them.

Another plus, in my opinion, is that the wools come pre-cut for stitching.  I am sure that if you prefer to cut your own lengths of yarn you could request uncut skeins and hanks. It was a pleasant surprise to have this done for me.  I forgot to mention that the feel of this yarn is wonderful. I can not say enough good things about this yarn and the kits from Bucherie.com. Gorgeous stuff.

If you haven’t done any needlepoint yet, maybe you should take a leap and jump right in. :) ! (For beginners, Dominique has wonderful video tutorials and a nice FAQ section at the website to get you started.) If you are already doing canvas work and are in the market for a new project, consider buying from Bucherie.com. I am pleased that I took a chance and will definitely be visiting them again.

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under needlepoint, shop review

7 responses to “Wonderful Needlepoint from Bucherie.com

  1. I’ve been experimenting with a variety of yarns in more recent projects and it’s amazing how lovely it feels when you work with some threads – I’m particularly enjoying some high twist 4ply knitting wools which give wonderful stitch definition, (but I am using a very fine scrim). Lovely projects you have there.

    • kneyda

      Thank you. As a spinner, the yarns I use take on an extra dimension. The hand is very important to me as is the way a piece will wear. As usual, your projects are gorgeous!

  2. Sahara

    Kneyda, you are just fabulous! I have a needlepoint I of a flower I started, and while I love stitching the flower, the large amount of background is stultifying! Friends say to leave it, it’s art, but I think it’s cheating. Here’s my question finally. Your top piece is laid out. Is a frame absolutely necessary? I use a standing frame, but feel if I could take my project with me, I can get through finishing the background. Plus, I enjoy the change of pace from knitting.

    • kneyda

      I would love to see your flower piece. :) Yes, I did the fox piece without a frame and let me tell you it was a big mistake. The stitches are not lying as they should and stitching is terribly slow. The canvas is monofil which really does much better when taut. If I was using interlock, it wouldn’t matter as much. So, it depends on the canvas. Also, if it is already on a frame, I suggest you keep it there so all the stitches will be similar. I can understand your frustration about the background. Maybe you should change the background to a different stitch that is more exciting to you? I don’t know if you read the post I did about Mary Cohen but she gave lots of hints about getting through massive projects including background.

      The next project I have will be put on a Beth Russell slate frame. Can you possibly take the frame off of the stand and bring it with you that way? How about picking out a new project to reward yourself if you finish the background by a certain date? Just throwing out some ideas. Thanks for writing in!

      • Sahara

        Boo hiss. Yes, my work is attached to a frame, held in place on a stand. I will admit that the tension and the stand assists greatly in the speed of the stitching. As far as the background? The flower is Kangaroo Paw; a different stitch in the blue background would be a distraction, because the flower itself is not a bold one. I did read the post about Mary Cohen with admiration for her tenacity. But honestly? I’m so much more fascinated with spinning and knitting. I’ll give the background a try, listening to an audiobook. But, in the end if this project doesn’t give me any more satisfaction, I’ll leave it without regret.

  3. kneyda

    Then, I change my mind and whip that sucker off the frame. If you won’t finish it with it on the stand, take it off and try it another way. I was thinking before that background seems a lot like stockinette stitch knitting with one color on small needles. I have a really hard time knitting in one color with not much else going on. Let me know how it goes. Good luck!

  4. So lovely to see this post along with charts and yarns from Bucherie!! I’m a great fan of Dominique’s technique (which I learnt from her videos) and is only way I needlepoint (I’m a very new needlepointer). Thanks to her videos I took to needlepoint, if it hadn’t been for her technique, I wouldn’t have taken it up LOL! Her technique is the most logical and efficient for me. Thank you for this post!

Leave a Reply

