Temporary Cop? Oh, yes!

As I was perusing through Fleegle’s excellent book, Fleegle Spins Supported, I read about making a temporary cop.  This was not a new concept to me but I guess it seemed like an unnecessary step.  Sure, lots of people do it and swear by it but to me, it was more of the “W” word. (work)

C.S.PEARCE, Labor Mural by C.S.PEARCE, 1896

A temporary cop is made you you wind-on your support spindle yarn in a smaller area near the top of the spindle.  It can be quick and dirty.  No need to try to make a perfect cop as the yarn will be resting there for only a short time.  After you have spun enough yarn where you feel the temporary cop is large enough to wind-on, you butterfly it onto your hand, and wind it onto the main cop on the rest of the spindle shaft.

Not that kind of butterfly! Image by Bert de Tilly, 2012, CC

For some strange reason, I blame the concussion I am nursing right now, I tried it a few days ago.  Let me tell you, I LOVE it.

Neal Brand Tibetan showing temporary cop in progress. (Bowl by Bristlecone)

Here is some lovely BFL by DyeKnttink.com being spun for the August spinning club at Spindle Candy on Ravelry.  I am using a Neal Brand Tibetan and a Bristlecone support bowl. (It’s okay to mix and match, don’t you think?)  Notice the massive main cop that takes up a large portion of the shaft and the smaller, temporary cop wound closer to the top of the spindle.

What I love about the temporary cop is the feeling of a more continuous spinning experience.  The butterfly wind on is a great chance to balance your fiber-hand’s muscles by stretching it out.  Both the butterflying and the proper wind-on go quickly and mindlessly after a few times.  Just wonderful stuff.

Close-up of temporary cop.

So if you haven’t tried the temporary cop, please give it a go.  Try it for one night.  I am hoping that you will feel the benefits as I did.  Support spinning is quickly becoming one of my favorite ways to spend an evening.

Side note: If you are thinking about getting Fleegle’s book in the printed version, you may want to order it sooner rather than later.  I read a post of hers where she said she thinks she will run out. Glad I got mine.  (No, I don’t get kickbacks from Fleegle.  I just like the book.)

4 Comments

Filed under support spinning

4 responses to “Temporary Cop? Oh, yes!

  1. I’m having an on-again, off-again thing with the temporary cop. At first, I thought, “Awesome! Almost continuous spinning!”. And then the butterfly flew away. Nasty. It has happened several times now. For some reason, winding off the butterfly is proving more demanding than anything else. Tips?

    • kneyda

      This has happened to me as well. I think my problem was trying to wind-off the butterfly while winding onto the spindle. I found that the split focus was the main culprit. Other factors for me were not having enough distance between my hands and butterfly hand angle while winding. Also, there was a problem with the amount of tension I was using with the yarn while letting yarn off of the butterfly hand.

      My solution was to break up the winding on into two parts. The first thing I do without winding is to gently without putting more tension than is necessary release some yarn from the butterfly. Then, I wind that on with tension.

      The spindle/bowl is now about three feet away from each other. I was way too close before. I use a low angle for release of the yarn but then increase it to wind on. The lower angle helps get the yarn easily off my fingers and the higher angle keeps my butterfly safe. I don’t want to keep the yarn safe with my grip so I use positions to help me achieve the results I want. Tension in your hands while spinning hurts. :)

      I release the yarn loosely! Keep just enough tension for it not to get stuck on itself.

      I hope this helps and are glad you love the continuous spin feeling. :)

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Got my Fleegle book on your recommendation—you are so right —it’s an excellent book. I feel asleep dreaming of spindles & fiber.

    • kneyda

      So glad you got one before they are gone. Do you know I still look at it all the time even months after I bought it? Really happy you like it.

Leave a Reply

